The Father I Seek

Posted: September 5, 2012 in Heavenly Father, Poems about God
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

As a young boy

I had no place to turn

A relationship with my Father

my heart would just burn

 

The abuse would start

To my dismay

A fight would break out

I had to run away

 

I had no place to run

Had no place to go

What would I do

I didn’t even know

 

There seemed to be no end

To all the abuse

Staying away from home

I had to find an excuse

 

First there was school

Then friends

Then work

A relationship with my father

My heart still hurt

 

I was introduced to God

Through a mutual friend

My only interest in Him

Was to put the abuse to an end

 

Little did I know

For God I would gain a desire

A relationship with my Heavenly Father

Is now what I aspire

 

 

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and 2012

 

Comments
  1. Shine says:

    beautifully expressed…a father’s rejection is more common than it should be and more damaging than most realize

  2. At 22 years of age I was a man hater. After having three ‘fathers’ who all abused me, the thought of a Father God did not inspire me.

    But the absolutely PERFECT Father adopted me into His own family and has been the perfect loving Father to me for 54 years. He has been my constant Companion and has undertaken for me in every way.

    What an amazing God!

    • adopted80 says:

      Meetingintheclouds, isn’t GOD so awesome that He can reach broken hearts like ours. Then He becomes the father we always dreamed of. Thankyou so much for your response.It is my prayer that GOD will Bless you in all you do.

      IN CHRIST
      BART{BUBBA}

  3. absolutely the right choice …beautiful post

  4. Beautiful! And its made more beautiful by the truth. God is my Father, the absolute best Father in the world. It’s the “natural” father who is suppose to be a child’s first image of God – for man was made in the likeness of God. If a man patterns himself after God and walks according to His precepts then he will be loved by his children and he will glorify The Father.

    Unfortunately many men fall short of their greater purpose. Thus they damage their relationship with God, dishonor His image and destroy their children’s faith. Much prayer is needed.

    Keep writing my friend and allowing God to use you, as a writer and as a man.

    God bless,
    Rebecca

    • adopted80 says:

      Rebecca, thank you for such encouraging thoughts. Ihave been so blessed with an awesome wordpress family, I’ve been more Blessed with an awesome and Loving GOD. HE touched my heart and changed it when I was the most unloveable. Today my earthly father has passed , but I can say I love him and even have hopes of seeing him in heaven. Thank you again for the encouraging words , ALL the responses to this blog encourege me to continue.

      IN CHRIST
      Bart{bubba}

      • You’re most welcome Bart. To be able to say that you love your earthly father is a true blessing indeed. Forgiveness and love, they’re the keys to making it into the Kingdom. “And now abideth faith, hope and charity but the greatest of these is charity (love).” May we all acquire the love that’s needed to make Heaven our home.

        I pray we meet there one day!
        Rebecca

Leave a Reply

