Why do I give into pleasures

When I am Gods valued treasure

Why do I give into my desires

Then disobeying what God requires

Why can’t I avoid temptation

When I am Gods creation

Is my new life not enough

Why does faith seem so tough

My flesh is weak, alone in I give

My life is not for me to live

Christ suffered, died on a cross

He died for me and all who’s lost

He sent His Spirit to live within

And to convict me of all my sin

What God requires is obedience

There’s not room for deviance

I am called to live, to be set apart

Straddling the fence is not a part

Faith doesn’t have to be so hard

Trust Christ, His Word I must regard

God’s Word does not lie

He requires I do more than try

His Word says I must stand firm

Study His Word, faith, He will confirm

 
© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and  2012

 

 

Comments
  1. One of the things I’ve come to realize on my journey, is just that: it is MY journey–my salvation–my relationship with God. We are all human, and we are all different, and so, our relationship with God will be different and our own. Realizing that God has always loved me, even when I tried to run and hide from Him, and did things I knew was wrong. I contend that He allowed me to be me, and knew in the end I would be His. Accepting myself, faults and all, has liberated and freed me from the world-based thoughts that I must be perfect, or I’m not good enough. I am what I am, and where I am, at this very moment, because this is what and where God needs me to be. I have but one aim in life, and that is to focus on Him and love Him. When I do that, He is able to mold me and use me to accomplish His wonderful plan.

    • adopted80 says:

      One thing I’m learning on this journey is that when I resist against God I’m only delaying Him molding me to be in the likeness of Christ. Thank you for liking this poem and your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

