Jesus Sets Me Free

Posted: November 5, 2012 in Faith, Poems about God, Set Free
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There was a time when I was lost in sin

There was a war raging, it was more than within

The battle was with addiction and helping people with needs

The problem with both was my addiction to speed

 

I was addicted to helping people who used each other

Most were called thieves, who would steal from their mother

I had this one experience while helping a homeless girl

She took me for a free ride, my life changed in a whirl

 

While I was in the hospital having a urinary surgery

Her boyfriend got out of prison, he did time for murdering

After I got out of the hospital I was trying to recover

I smelled a foul smell and boy what did I discover

 

A meth lab was in my house and I didn’t know what to do

I went to get a friend, it was hauled off by his own crew

Before I found the lab he sat me down for a talk

He said if I’m the telling kind I’d never live or walk

 

I took that to be literal, he meant what he said

He told some friends of mine, if it’s the last thing he did I’d be dead

The reason I’m alive for this testimony I do give

I have a relationship with Christ, my enemies at peace I will live

 

This all happened just a few short years ago

I remain faithful to Christ, His Ways I want to know

Sometimes I get paranoid and fear really grips at me

I remain faithful to Christ, He’s my Lord who sets me free

 

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and  2012

Comments
  1. […] There was a time when I was lost in sin There was a war raging, it was more than within The b Source: God Blogs […]

  2. what a wonderful testimony Bart and I am so glad you are alive to give it!

  3. It seems we’ve traveled some of the same back alleys, Bart. I’ve wandered a bit in my time, and I thank God He always had hold of my belt loop. I like what you’re doing with your blog, and I’m going to subscribe and see what else you got cooking! God bless you!
    Charlie

Leave a Reply

