More Than Enough Grace

Posted: December 5, 2012 in Faith, God's Love, Gods Grace, Hope, Love One Another, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

More Than Enough Grace

1 Corinthians 12:6-10 (HCSB)

(6) For if I want to boast, I will not be a fool, because I will be telling the truth. But I will spare you, so that no one can credit me with something beyond what he sees in me or hears from me, (7) especially because of extraordinary revelations. Therefore, so that I would not exalt myself, a thorn in the flesh was given me, a messenger of Satan to torment me so I would not exalt myself.  (8) Concerning this I pleaded with the Lord three times to take it away from me. (9) But He said to me,” My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore, I will most gladly boast all the more about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may reside in me. (10) So I take pleasure in weaknesses. Insults, catastrophes, persecutions, and in pressures, because of Christ. For I am weak, then I am strong.

I have no degree in seminary so I couldn’t probably explain this passage correctly or fully, but I would like to tell a true story based on what it says to me.

I’ve been battling cancer since 2003, and have had it twice, one in 2003 and then in 2004. This was all before I submitted to the Will of God. I believed I was saved as a youth, yet chose to live in rebellion most of my life. My older sister (Shelley) was diagnosed 6 months before me and lived 3 years after diagnosis. Shelley loved God, walked close with God, and myself rebellion and what appeared I looked like a hater. Sis got to go home to be with the Lord in August 1 2006 her birthday. I hated God all the more. I believed I should have died and she gets to raise her kids. It was the other way around. She got to go home and God spared me to live to submit to His Will, in which I did in 2009.

Fast forward to now. As I’ve said, I’ve been in a battle against cancer. First it was colon cancer, then rectal cancer, and all this is hereditary. Which left me disabled with scores of complicated medical issues and an illeostomy for life. I have to be tested at least every six months; this is my thorn and my tormentor. Don’t get me wrong I’m like everyone else, I have my good days and bad. And I no longer complain about it. NOT loll There are times when I still ask God to take it away and/or take me home. But today I’m learning perseverance and I’m learning to take what I have and use it for God. What I mean there are times I have to be in a hospital, I know that is a place where people need encouragement and their spirit up lifted. I know from my experience that I get attacked when I’m sick, heck it is an attack, so if it happen to me it happens to others, and don’t forget the Drs and nurses and all hospital staff. It’s a place where people need and I find want to here a message of hope. And I love to talk about Jesus, not about all the sickness but what Christ has done with all the sickness. How he redeemed me, healed me, and how His Hand is up on my life today. Oh man don’t get me started, I just love Jesus and talking about His goodness, His faithfulness. See this is what this passage says to me. I have these medical issues, God uses them to keep me close to Him, because I know I don’t want to and can’t live without Him and most importantly God gets glorified because of it all. All Glory Go To God!

In Christ Love

Bart

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and 2012

Comments
  1. JD Blom says:

    Bart – I was blessed by your words and heart today. Thank you for your post. I survived colon cancer 6 years ago so I have a sense of what you are battling. I am praying for you Brother. May our mighty and powerful Lord and Savior give you the strength to glorify Him in all that He has called you to bear.
    JD

Leave a Reply

