Fearing God But Not Afraid

This is a random thought I have on my heart and I don’t have any certain Scripture to go with it. I am gun shy if you will about posting this, but also welcome any thoughts you might have.

I love God with all my heart, I also Fear God and His Word. But I so wander in my mind if in the Fearing of God, I not also have some fear of or as one might want to think be afraid. Here is what my thought is on my heart; I am not afraid of judgement for doing something wrong when answering an opportunity That God has placed before me, but what I am afraid of is having to answer for the missed opportunities that I did not answer that were placed before me. This is not something that I dwell on, yet sometimes surfaces though.

I will give you an example of what brought this to mind. Mary and I are lead to have a family stay with us through the winter, as I have written about before. Well due to unforeseen events in their lives one person lost their employment. It was not too long when the two of them got work delivering news papers. The problem is that they need gas and a little cash to take care of their kids. They asked me for the number to my church and I gave it to them but the church is closed on Fridays. By this time I new something to be wrong and they told me. Here is where I was wrong, I started not to do something to help them because in my mind I’m saying don’t we already do enough. I knew we could help some, but I also knew where they might get more help and I was hesitant at first. This was really a fight within myself and now I struggle with the guilt that I allowed the devil to start interfering with what God was doing. As in James 4 says Submit yourselves to God resist the devil and he will flee. I wander in doing this that this is an action step. In my case I asked for forgiveness from God and then did what needed to be done to get them the necessary help. I hope I tied all this together with my thought about not wanting to have to answer for missed opportunities.

In talking with a friend the lesson I walk away learning is obedience, I’m to be obedient to Gods call and when convicted of the times I’m rebellious and disobedient to not answering His call, I am to confess them and ask for forgiveness, in which God is faithful to forgive. It was also suggested by a Godly man that mentors me that, when someone is in need and I know I have the resources or know of resources that can help, it is for me to be obedient to God in filling the need, it is also none of my business what the person does with the resources. That is between them and God. The devil is going to try and interfere by casting doubt in some way. My response to that is by Submitting to God not the devil or my own selfishness.

Feel free to express your thoughts and experiences on this matter.

In Christ
Bart

1 CORINTHIANS 16:13,14 BE on your guard; stand firm in the faith: be men of courage: be strong. 14) Do everything in love.

1 PETER 4:8-10 Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. 9) Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. 10)Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering Gods grace in it’s various forms.

2 PETER1:5-8 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness knowledge; 6) and to knowledge self control; and to self-control perseverance; and to perseverance godliness; 7) and to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness love. 8)For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in you knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ.

1JOHN 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and 2012

Comments
  1. This is wonderful Bart, I especially like that it took but a moment for you to realize it was Satan not God messing with you. Like I tell him all the time laughing at him, “I’ve read the book Satan and I know the ending so leave me alone” Seems to work most times. You know God gives us authority to bind many things from ourselves, satan is definitly one of those things.

  2. Dear Bart, I see clearly how your love for God shines so strongly for your words were beautiful indeed to read. I agree with you totally on everything that you stated so boldly. God bless you and I see that the grace of Christ that lives in you will inspire and touch the hearts of many for it has already touched mine.

    God bless you my brother in Christ

    • adopted80 says:

      Thank you so much for yopur kind words. God has and is blessing me so much. Touching peoples lives like yours is what compells me to write.

      • Then keep on writing Bart because I have realised that through my own personal journey and faith in Christ is definitely a journey, joy and suffering can and should exist together. It’s when we can find the peace of God within and still have the capacity to love by Grace that we have an effect on those around us, for none other than to glorify Christ Jesus.
        God keep and bless you

      • adopted80 says:

        Thank you and God Blees You

Leave a Reply

