Love Is Gods Command

Posted: February 23, 2013 in God's Love, Love, Love One Another, Poems about God, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

What does it mean to be the keeper of my brother

Is it as simple as looking after each other

The Lord commands me to be my brothers keeper

This means to me, my love has to run much deeper

If my brother stumbles must I give him a hand

For to love one another this is what God commands

One thing I have to remember who am I to love first

First being God, for Him I hunger and I thirst

Loving others seems simple but it’s harder than it appears

To love one another I must not hide behind my fears

What do I have to fear is the question at hand

When all I have to remember is that God First Loved Man

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and 2012

Comments
  1. I gotta give ya one of my coveted, BAM!s for this one, Bart. You nailed it! The last line is the perfect topper too. I always say the first thing–the only thing–we have to do is love God, but I changed my mind recently, and learned that the first thing we have to do is realize how much God loves US!
    Great post, my man!

Leave a Reply

