This Thing Called Sin

Posted: March 21, 2013 in Poems about God, Prayer, Struggles, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I hate sin so damn much

It plagues my life as an evil touch

It touches areas that I think it missed

It comes on quietly as a shish

Before I know it I entertain

This shish and it starts to rain

It rains so hard that I can’t see

What Gods marvelous plan is for me

Sin is so attractive in most ways

It is hard as hell to turn away

Why on earth can I not resist

This thing called sin that makes me pissed

As I write I am full of anger

I wished I could throw it out like a broken hanger

I know I used words that are foul

Please forgive me and not growl

The reason I could not resist this sin

I was using my own strength not the power within

The power within is Gods Spirit

When I rely on me, sin I fall in It

So my prayer as I write

Is for Gods strength in this fight

Relying on God is the only way to win

In this fight with this thing called sin

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 and 2012

Comments
  1. I like you seem to lose to sin more often lately I know it is Satan and most days I can fight but not here lately. this is a beautifully true and emotion filled write my friend

  2. You got it, Bart! Don’t beat yourself up, just let it out and let Him in! Remember the song we sang as children? Jesus loves me this I know… sing it, brother!

Leave a Reply

