2 CORINTHIANS 5:6-9

(6)Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord. (7) We live by faith, not by sight. (8) We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord. (9) So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.

The other day my wife and I were having a conversation along the lines of these verses, the only thing was that we were not conscious of the passage. We were talking about how does a person know that God is leading them one way or another. In other words how can I be sure I’m following God or living within His will?

Not to long ago the lease on our home was coming to an end and Mary was wanting to be closer to some friends and her oldest daughter and grandson in east Texas. Not to mention we would be closer to her youngest daughters father and there would be less of a stain on all parties involved. The bonus for me was I would get more man time with our 5 year old grandson. To be honest our prayers consisted of asking God to provide a house that would meet our needs both financially and size. We wanted God to lead us to the right church. Please don’t get me wrong, we love God and we serve him the best we can do. But in a sense we weren’t so much look or asking God what would please Him or even if this move would please the Lord. Some times I think about this and tell myself what was I thinking, where was I putting God in all this. Thankfully we have a close relationship with our pastor and his wife, who are like mother and father to me. We went to dinner to break the news to them and almost immediately they were concerned that this decision was not right for many reasons. They petitioned God in prayer on our half and long story short , it was not the right decision..

Living by faith, not by sight, or some translations say walking by faith not by sight , this short passage to me means so much more I think than just putting your faith in God to supply your needs. I often lose sight that this body that I live in, that living here on earth is my temporary home. That by faith my home is with Jesus in heaven. Jesus when He ascended to heaven to sit at the right hand of God, He, Jesus did not leave us alone. He gave us the Comforter, the Holy Spirit, who lives in our hearts. He is our guide, that is as long as we allow Him to be. I think in verse 9 it says it all. Whether in our earthly body, or when we are in heaven with Christ we make it our goal to please God. You can look at it different ways I guess but I look at it like this, I am made by God for God and what I do here on earth should be pleasing to God and Glorify God. How do I do that? Well it’s called self examination, check my motives, just taking a look to see if how I’m living lines up with the word of God as best I can of course and the action is by faith, trust that what I do is pleasing to God. This all works for how I talk as well. All this living by faith, not by sight is sometimes a lot to wrap my mind around, so when I get confused or have questions I seek out a pastor or a Godly friend for help and ask for prayer. We are not alone, God will never leave us. It’s my prayer that you all are encouraged…I have to constantly remind myself, It’s not all about me, IT’S ALL ABOUT Christ. What ever blessings I get here on earth , they are to bless others and God. The work I do is for Him.

In Christ

Bart

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. Thank you for sharing! We are in the process of moving and we need to be in constant prayer about it. I found myself doing some manipulation with God about it and was quickly convicted. Love your honesty!!!

    • adopted80 says:

      trustinhim123, thank you for your kind words. I honestly think that faith doesn’t have to be as hard as I make it for the simple reason is I always make it more complicated, through as you’ve stated manipulation, unpure motives, selfishness. The list can be ongoing, but always thankfully because of Gods amazing graze and love he always provides…..Blessings my friend

      In Christ
      bart

  2. […] Do We Really Walk By Faith? Why Not Walk By Sight? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Thanks for sharing this Bart. Praise God for good mentors who were able to point you in the right direction.

    Isaiah 55:8-9 “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughtsd higher than your thoughts”

    Psalm 18:30,32 tells us “As for God, HIS way is perfect . . . and He makes MY way perfect”

    My logic may be sound in many areas, but when it comes to God’s will, my logic may be completely out of kilter. Praise God for the REALITY of life in Christ and for the experience of knowing that our loving Father God always desires only the very, very best for us. I must depend on Him for guidance and be willing to walk in His way.

    • adopted80 says:

      Thank You so much. I really love and enjoy how you have encouraged me with Gods Word. I pray God will Bless you abundantly. I am truly blessed for knowing you..

      In Christ
      bart

  4. […] Do We Really Walk By Faith? Why Not Walk By Sight? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

