ROMANS 1:1-6

(1)Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God, (2) the gospel he promised beforehand through his prophets in the Holy Scriptures, (3) regarding his Son, who as to his human nature was a descendant of David, (4) and who through the Spirit of holiness was declared with power to be the Son of God, by his resurrection from the dead; Jesus Christ our Lord. (5) Through him and for his name’s sake, we receive grace and apostleship to call people from among all the Gentiles to the obedience that comes from faith. (6) And you also are among those who are called to belong to Jesus Christ.

WOW! What an introduction. I don’t know about anyone else thinks when they read these few Scripture verses, but as for me, every time I read this, this is what I think. And just let me start straight from the beginning that I don’t claim to be anything like the Apostle Paul. However I believe that I am called to belong to Jesus Christ, and also called to obedience that comes from faith In Him. I am also not going to attempt to correctly explain all these verses, but what I am going to do is tell you how I relate to them though.

Tonight after dinner I got a notification that a close friend posted some new pictures on the web, and being curious I scrolled down to check them out. They were beautiful pictures of their whole family and I know them all and love them with all my heart. But I started thinking of my own family and got kind of sad that my siblings and I had such a difficult up bringing. As I reminisced through my childhood till present day right here and now I started to recant the memories of how I tried to fit in through out life as I know it. Throughout school there were all the different sports programs, from baseball, to football, then in high school there was the rodeo club. If you look at me now rodeo, bull riding to be exact it would be hard to believe. Then there was the US Marine Corps, then Biker Clubs, both clean and sober and outlaw, the right relationship, friends, cars, Harley’s, employment, money. All this stuff and nothing worked to ease me into feeling like I was connected and belonged. There were times when I would even tried to find God.

Thankfully and by Gods grace I don’t have to live like that any more. Christ redeemed me, He gives the gift of salvation that comes through faith in Him and His forgiveness comes through confessing my sin and is never to be remembered. So that means for me that I no longer have to say the right things or know the right people, or do the right things or have the perfect stuff to fit in. I am no longer a SLAVE to all the things that I thought I had to do to belong and have what I thought was the good life. Today I belong to Jesus, yes that’s right I am a member of the family of God. WOW, instead of having to perform to try to fit in, I really belong. Today no matter the suffering, the problem or anything else can take me away from the love of God. Today I can truly say that I am living the good life and how it all started if you look back to verse 6 it says And you also are among those who are called to belong to Jesus Christ, what it took for me was I had to answer Christ’s call for my life.

You too can belong to Christ. If you are struggling for any reason in your life, if you’re trying different things to find fulfillment or even using all kinds of methods in life to complete you and you still end up unsatisfied there is HOPE. Christ is waiting for you to call out to Him. There is a call on your life to belong to Him. Your part is to answer to His call, don’t wait, there is no time like the present. Scripture says in Romans 10:9 That if you confess with your mouth ” Jesus is Lord” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. That’s all you got to do, now you are a new creation and your journey starts by living your life for the Lord and how one learns to live for God is by reading the Bible. If you claim to be a follower of Christ and are struggling trying to fit in or belong? What I do is call out to Christ asking Him to reveal Himself to me in such a way that I can’t mistake or miss Him for anything. For the strength to know and believe that He is all I need to be fulfilled and give me the strength and courage to serve Him confidently in all that He has called me to. Then asking for strength no to give up and quit. There is one thing that I am coming to understand more and more and that is that this life with Christ is a process of not just Loving God, I am learning to Love Him MOST. Don’t give up on God for He will surely not give up on you. With Christ there is always HOPE.

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. Ron Graham says:

    Bart,what a great post on truth. We are,what He proclaim us to be, his bride, ambassador, temple, branch, disciple, hated by the world, sanctify, living sacrifices for righteousness, sons of God and being conform into the likeness of God’s Son. Everthing we have is in Him and Christ in us. Greater is He that is in us than he that is in this world.  

    ________________________________

  2. Lot’s of good stuff in this one, Bart. Trying to please man and/or myself; been there done that! My life used to resemble a line from the old Creedence song; “Workin’ for the man every night and day”, but these days, I’m workin for the Lord every night and day, and it is SO much better! My wages these days are abundant peace, and blessings I cannot begin to count!
    Keep on keepin on, bro!

Leave a Reply

