PSALM 46:10

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

A couple of years ago at Christmas, a close friend gave me a nice ink pen with matching case and on both this Scripture was in scribed. This was of course before I had my own computer, so all the writing that I was doing was on paper with this very pen. Oddly enough, I never once considered what it really meant. Even more oddly, although I’ve read it in the Bible, I can’t remember stopping (even once) to meditate on this verse asking God what He is saying.

As I watch my family in their day to day activities especially my wife and older daughter, they have to be doing something all the time. Even when we are trying to relax out of town or out by the pool, they are uncomfortable being still. And truthfully most of my friends and people I’ve been acquainted with are similar. I actually believe most people are driven and I know it’s not just for the sake of keeping busy. We have to work, provide for the family, maintain the house, business has to happens and tasks have to be completed. There’s purpose in what we do.

Well then there’s me, chuckling at myself as I am writing. I am disable and I have a lot of time. I have no problem stopping when it’s time to stop, or being still. I also have no problem when a task needs to be completed chipping in to help in any way I can. Matter of fact, today I decide to take a nap, well the only part of me that wouldn’t stop and be still is my mind. I have OCDT, you know Obsessive Compulsive Distorted Thoughts and my mind or thoughts are racing as if in a Nascar race. Just going and going. So I just started to talk to God and this Scripture came to my mind. The sad part is I just laid there, tossed and turned but thankfully my spirit wasn’t playing along. So next step was to get up and read and see what Gods Word has to say about being still.

Gods voice breaks through in a climax as He addresses the nations, because of the works of God on the behalf of His people, God will be exalted through out the earth in every nation. This is proven to be supremely true of Gods saving act in the birth, life, death and resurrection of His own son Jesus Christ. This all will be brought to a completion at the return of Christ.

I don’t know about any of you, but when I take the time to slow down long enough to get in to Gods Word and not just read it, it’s as if I am hearing personally from the God of our universe. Guys I get WOW’ED. I have to ask myself how can I not stand in complete AWE of God. This is the impact God and His Word the Bible has on me every time I study it. I’m going to close with this question I have to ask myself. If food is important for me to be able to live physically, how much more important is Gods Word, the Bread of Life needed to live this life and eternally with God? What’s it going to take for me to Be Still and Know That God Is God?  Take time to Know God through His Word …..

In Christ

Bart

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. Very well said, Bart! I’m a perfect example of what you’re saying here. I wrote a book called “Be Still”, and I’m one of the worlds worst about having to always be doing something. Except, that is, in the early morning.. That’s when I sit at my computer and read and write about God. Oh, I do it at other times throughout the day, but not near as much as I should.
    Carry on, my man… I mean… be still! Doh!

    • adopted80 says:

      Thanks Charlie, you are too funny…. I know you wrote the book Be Still and I want to really bad but just haven’t taken the time to get it.. Too busy you might say.. LOL When I do get it I hope I can send it to you to sign it for me. Your encouraging words mean the world to me. In all sincerity Thank You…

  2. Ron Graham says:

    Amen and amen! Bart, what an awesome Father we have, His written Word is at our finger tips about His living Word that lives within us. Father, grow us into the image of our Lord so that we can be effective in this world for His kingdom and mankind’s benefit. May our lives bring glory to Jesus the Christ! 

    ________________________________

    • adopted80 says:

      Thank You Ron, there is definitely one thing that I can count on with you is this , you always encourage me back with the hope and truth of Gods Word.
      Amen Brother…

  3. […] Stop! What Do You Mean Stop? Be Still, How? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

