John 15:12-14

(Jesus speaking) 12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command.

I have a few friends and class mates, plus myself that have served in the US Marine Corps. Some have retired from the Corps and I expect a few maybe are still in. The highest esteemed character trait that can bestowed on us is Integrity, and it our belief  as well as our motto to remain faithful. To our God, to our country, to our service, the Marine Corps, each other, and or families. Often we would greet one another with this motto, called SEMPER FIDELIS or for short SEMPER FI. The exact meaning is Always Faithful.

Now it is part of our beliefs to be crowned with the title of US Marine there is no higher honor, and has to be earned never just given. But what reminded me of this Scripture is in talking to a high school class mate and Marine this morning is that in part of the service to the Corps, no matter what comes to us in life we always have a bond with one another to stay faithful to each other. Now I haven’t asked each person if they would sacrifice their life for mine, but I also don’t believe I have to. I just know and believe if not all most will, and I will do the same for them. It’s a sacrifice that we uphold. No questions asked. It’s who we are.

It is my belief that this Scripture says it all. God loves us so much that He sacrificed His own Son and Jesus obeying His Father, sacrificed His own life so that we don’ have to endure Gods wrath for sin. Which is death separated from Father God. This is Gods command that we love each other as Christ loves us. He’s also saying that there is no greater love that we lay down our life for Christ and I believe our friends. Then He calls us friends if we obey His command.

Now I know that I said there is no greater honor than to be called US Marine, but that’s before I knew and have a relationship with Jesus. Guys I’m at a WOW factor. There is absolutely no Greater Honor than to have Jesus call me His friend. None, to belong in the family of Christ, to be co-heirs in the Kingdom of God. To have fellowship with our Creator. To me this is Amazing and Awesome, but we have a part to do. We have to obey Gods commands, which is sometimes difficult. But Jesus is our Strength. He left us with the Holy Spirit to convict us, guide us, and strengthen us. This is so we don’t have to rely on our own strength.

Now this is a pretty big step to make, to lay one’s life down for Christ and each other. I can’t honestly say I’ll do this for everyone I know. But I do know I will sacrifice my life for Christ, my family, and my close friends.

I’ll leave you with this thought: take some time and meditate on this Scripture and ask God to help you see what this Scripture means to you. I don’t question whether I love God or not, I have to evaluate do I love God most.

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. […] Who Do You Love Most (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

