EPHESIANS 5:22-24, 33

22. Wives submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is head of the church, his body, of which is the Savior. 24. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives submit to their husbands in everything.

33. However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

Now let us start with a basic definition of submit: to yield oneself to the authority or will of another, to consent or abide by the opinion or authority of another.

Sometimes I think I get submit and demand mixed up, at least I at times get them confused. Simply because I find myself asking my wife to do something in a commanding voice, almost belligerently, covering it in the façade of submit. I know this can and does get confusing for my wife, and then sugar coating it with I’M THE HEAD OF THE HOUSE. I remember my father telling us and mother DO AS I SAY NOT AS I DO. Boy were we confuse covered in fear. I firmly believe that If I have my wife’s well being at heart and the good of the family she work with my decisions. But most of the time I’m selfish and not even close to selfless. And honestly I think this could be another cause of divorce, at least in part. Poor communication skills in a marriage will lead to a train wreck in the relationship. Then tie in a selfish love creates a relationship that’s bound to derail at some point. We both love God and I decide to get counseling with our pastor and my wife sought out our pastors wife. We decided we’re not ready to give in to divorce. With God all things are possible, and I had to submit to the authority of God.

What I think this passage is saying: Wives your submitting to you husband but more for the Lord, because husbands as Priests of the home we are going to answer for how we treated and lead our family in all areas , yes the Spiritual well being of our wives and children. Most guys are not going to abuse your or not love themselves, so let’s love our wives as we love ourselves and not abuse them in any way. See I should of took notes because I heard our pastor tell the wives not to be idle, so wives pray for a revival in the home, prompt the move of God in your homes.

We have to not put God in a box. He is all powerful, all knowing and infinite. He desires us to continually seek Him and when we will all the pieces will align in place, but have to not give up seeking, pursuing an intimate relationship with Christ.

Let’s close asking Father God place a hedge of protection over and around our marriages so as to not let the evil one destroy what you alone have joined together, help us to revive Your Spirit of Love in our hearts and our homes, help us to seek Your Son to help us learn from Your Word how to communicate with each. Help us to seek Your Face and Your Will in our marriages and in all we say and do. We give You all thanks, honor, glory, and praise, Father God we ask all this in Your Son’s precious Name, the name of Jesus, Amen…

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. […] What Do You Mean Submit ? What’s Love Got To Do With It ? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

  2. conroydennis says:

    AAAmmmmmmmeeeennnn : ) Sooo true!!!

  3. […] What Do You Mean Submit ? What’s Love Got To Do With It ? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

