JAMES 5:16

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

As I’ve stated once before that I was led by God to a ministry called Celebrate Recovery, in which I am now a member with almost 2 years clean off drugs. And for this I praise God because I could not have done it alone. I tried for a many of years, but the problem all that time of getting clean and relapsing again and again was that I always tried to keep my sin a secret. Thinking no one was the wiser. Oh how I was sadly mistaken. First of all God knew, but I even tried to hide from Him. One would think and learn that if it didn’t work for Adam in the garden it’s not going to work for me and anyone else for that matter. I don’t know about anyone else but for me secrets destroy me and yet I still try. But some how when I confess my sin it’s as if a mighty weight was lifted right off my back and I know who to think for that Almighty God!

What’s really cool is that in CR through working the 12 steps and 8 principles in a step study with other men, men work with men, women work with women, we learn to develop accountability partners, and we also get a sponsor. You learn in a step study that you’re not all alone, which to me made confessing my sin a little easier. The reason for that is we all adhere to a confidentiality agreement. I mean wouldn’t be awful if I confessed a sin say against my wife and it found it’s way back to her, the devastation would be terrible to say the least. Personally I think a lot of people feel the same way and is a reason we remain in bondage to our sin…

Why confess my sin to each other? Well for one I believe this to be a command and two it takes the burden of having to keep secrets. Because God already knows is no reason not to confess to Him also. This is my belief. Why pray for each other? Prayer is one of the tools in a believer in Christ’s tool box that is powerful. The next powerful tool for us is Gods Word. This passage in James is all about prayer and having us pray for each other. We are in this together not fighting all alone. What are we being healed from? I believe 1st from spiritual sickness, sin, physical sickness. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective. This isn’t say the prayer of the perfect, it’s righteous. I think it’s indicating a person that is holy, or Godly, one that remains waling a right relationship with Christ. God is the one that heals and only God, yet we need to remain with steadfast faith in Christ…..

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. conroydennis says:

    Praise Jesus for your recovery. I’m a firm believer, that our struggles and deliverance, isn’t just for us, but it’s to help others who are going through the same paths as we once did. My friend, keep being a blessing to as many as you can.
    God Bless You : )

  2. Diana Symons says:

    I’m proud of you, Bro. Be blessed and awesome.

  3. […] adage is that confession is good for the soul. I agree with that. Any sin is destructive, so having someone pray with you about areas you are […]

Leave a Reply

