I Love This and I Love That But What Do I Love Most

Posted: October 16, 2013 in Blessings and Curses, Devotions, Discipline, God's Love, Gods Grace, Heavenly Father, Holiness, Hope, Poems about God, Set Apart, Set Free, Thankfulness, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Matthew 22:37-38

37. Jesus replied:”’ Love the Lord your God with all your heart and all your soul and all your mind’ 38. This is the first and greatest commandment.”

Now I have to admit that I’ve heard my pastor say that he doesn’t doubt whether or not anyone of us in the congregation love God, but what he wondered is do we love God most. And on those days I was already sweating and now feeling convicted started sweating even more.

Now being convicted the right thing to do is see why I’m being convicted. I could ask myself what’s my relationship with Christ like? Is He the beginning and ending of my day, how often do I read the Bible, what is my prayer life like. All these are good and part of the equation but I think there is a bigger part called Obedience. I mean I have or have had things stand in the way of my relationship with God and to be honest will down right fight Him tooth and nail to let them go. All the while knowing that God wins every time. I also don’t believe that He prunes us to have us put down things to pick up better and brighter things, God has us to walk away from things to have us look more like Christ and be more Godly…

Now what I have to do is look at what I’m allowing to take the place of God? What is stopping me from loving God most and becoming willing to give it to God? Then keep submitting it God and prayerfully asking Him to change me to look more like His Son Jesus…

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. Definitely a wonderful message in this one Bart. Hope life is treating you well. God Bless you

  2. Thank you for your like of my Update of the Ministry and Mission of Equipping The Saints. May our Lord Jesus richly bless you.
    Pastor/Equipping The Saints
    Philippians 3:10, “That I Might Know Him”

Leave a Reply

