You’ll Do WHAT ? Give Me WHAT ? What Do I Have To Do ?

Posted: October 20, 2013 in Blessings and Curses, Devotions, Forgiveness, God's Love, God's Word, Gods Grace, Hope, Love, Poems about God, Prayer, Reflections, Struggles, Thankfulness, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

PSALM 37:4

Take delight in the Lord,

and he will give you the

desires of your heart.

I woke up fairly early to drink coffee as I usually do, so after I turned on the coffee I sat down at the dining room table. On the table was my laptop, my Bible and a couple of books I’m reading and I start fidgeting through looking for something to write about. Now mind you that this is a play back at what inspired me to write this morning. I grabbed my coffee and sat back down, opened up one of the books and was just not settled. So I opened my laptop and nothing. Pushing the computer away from me I reached out and grasped my Bible, brought it to my face , held my head next to it then put it down and started drinking my coffee. What happened next set me back for a second, I could not put that coffee cup down, I mean I would take a sip go to put it down and immediately had to pick it up for another sip. This went on and on till my cup was empty and needed a refill. But what I noticed throughout this say 5 minutes was in my left hand was my Bible and in the right hand was my cup of coffee and how I desired that coffee more than anything else, Then it hit me… Just think for a minute with me … What if I Desired God like I had desired my coffee…What if I desired to know God like that this morning…

Now I’m no scholar but the word delight could at least mean to take great pleasure.  I somehow feel that it is a stronger meaning of taking great pleasure than just normal.  As far as the desires of our heart, I think that as we take pleasure in The Lord that our worldly desires change to Godly desires.

Lets try to do something different today.  If you have something in your life that you desire more than you desire God, lets try asking Him to help us to desire Him more than our own desires…

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Leave a Reply

