Have you ever needed to be rescued? Myself, I haven’t, yet I have. I do not claim to have ever been in a tragic situation where I had to rescued by emergency personnel, but I have needed to be rescued from an addiction to methamphetmines that I was in for a great number of years. With Christmas nipping at our heals, it seems a perfect time to write about Who Will Be My Rescue.

2 Timothy 1:9-10
He has saved us and called us to a holy life-not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given to us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10. but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.

As I was praying, and searching, and asking to be led to a topic to write about, these verse’s just about leaped off the page. My spirit cried out with thanksgiving to have been rescued, not only from a life in addiction, but most importantly from my life’s choices to be separated from God all because choosing to live in sin. With the addiction came sexual immorality in various forms. A life that now I think about it must have just broke Gods heart. You might ask why I say that. To be honest I got saved as a youth and walked away because I thought God wasn’t hearing or answering my prayers. I had a wish list of things in my life that I wanted God to fix and when he didn’t perform like I thought he should I decided I could do a better job with my life and walked away. But throughout life I still considered myself to be a Christian. At that young age I really wanted God in my life but I wanted for him to fix all my problems too. Throughout life when ever I got in hot water if you will I would seek out a church to attend, or a Bible Study to go to, or just pray for God to get me out of whatever situation that I seemed to have gotten myself in to. A long story short, in 2005 my girlfriend had lost custody of her youngest son in a court battle to her ex-husband. As we were grieving the loss of her son and as I was missing him, I knew she needed spiritual guidance that I couldn’t give her. This was all my thinking. So I heard this voice go to church and there happened to be one just around the corner from her house. And we started attending. Two years later in a rather hot conversation I said if she would just go to church more and her response was that her and God had a relationship that maybe He wasn’t looking for her but instead He was looking for me and the she kicked me out and that’s when I needed to be rescued the most. I was completely broken, nowhere to go and had no one that I could call on. This was now 2009 in Portland, Oregon at the beginning of winter. That is when I knew that Christ is my only hope. I happened to be lost in unforgiveness between a lost relationship between my earthly father and me. I was at my mothers in Dallas, Texas and in the middle of the night one night as I was praying God spoke to my heart that I needed to forgive my dad. I didn’t see how because he was dead, God softly spoke how can I forgive you if you can’t forgive him. I hit my knees crying asking for God to help me forgive my dad. Today I stand forgiven and free not only from the bondage of unforgiveness but also free from the chains of addiction. But I didn’t do it completely on my own, God led me to the ministry of Celebrate Recovery. With their help and the help of the 12 steps and 8 principles Christ has freed me from unfogiveness and addiction and is in the process of healing me. Today with Christ and the help of CR I am learning to make better more healthier choices. I am learning to live a life that is pleasing to God.

If you are broken or hurting or are in bondage to life’s hurts habits and hang-ups please seek Christ as your Rescue. Please don’t go through this Christmas Season alone or broken, thinking you have to go it all alone or that you have to carry the weight of life’s burdens all on your own shoulders. Pray and ask God to reveal Himself to you, to help you seek a relationship with Him and to help you seek Him to heal from the brokenness that is in your heart and your life then confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead you will be saved. Romans 10:9

In Christ
Bart

Leave a Reply

