A Fork In the Road

I got lost somewhere along the way
From Your Word is where I started to stray
On this path my walk began to shift
Right and wrong I could no longer sift
I was being distracted by the pretties of the day
It appeared to me that I was following my own way
In my heart I was always being torn
The separation that it caused had me feeling worn
Everyday I came to a fork in the road
This is getting hard for alone I carried this load
This is my burden I chose to carry by myself
My walk with Christ I chose to put on a shelf
I put up a wall to avoid the conviction in my heart
But deep within my chest I knew just where to start
It all started with a simple prayer
Asking God if He will help me pull back the layers
But first things first I must confess my sin
I walked away from God what a mess it caused within
I ask God to forgive me and my wicked ways
On His righteous path is where I want to stay
I must confess it is me that walks away from God
I believe the same lie that caused man to be flawed
I know the devil comes to kill, steal and destroy
He uses the pretties of the day as his decoy
He tries to get me to live a defeated life
To live in sin which causes strife
But thankful to God Jesus is my Lord
He gave us His Word which we call our Sword
From the beginning God had a master plan
To send Jesus as the redeemer for man
He put Jesus high up on a cross
To save all who’s getting lost
So if you are like me and have lost your way
Turn to Jesus, He’s the only Way

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015

Comments
  1. Ron Graham says:

       Our Lord is the only way to complete wholeness and real purpose. In Him is real life! Thank you Lord for your mercy and grace for all mankind. Your love for man brings me to your feet on my face. May my life be pleasing to you and bring glory to your name. Thank you for letting me be part of your beautiful body. I want you in complete control of my life.    

    WordPress.com | adopted80 posted: “A Fork In the RoadI got lost somewhere along the wayFrom Your Word is where I started to strayOn this path my walk began to shiftRight and wrong I could no longer siftI was being distracted by the pretties of the dayIt appeared to me that I wa” | | Respond to this post by replying above this line |

    | | |

    | New post on poems4him | |

    | | | | A Fork In the Road by adopted80 |

    A Fork In the RoadI got lost somewhere along the way From Your Word is where I started to stray On this path my walk began to shift Right and wrong I could no longer sift I was being distracted by the pretties of the day It appeared to me that I was following my own way In my heart I was always being torn The separation that it caused had me feeling worn Everyday I came to a fork in the road This is getting hard for alone I carried this load This is my burden I chose to carry by myself My walk with Christ I chose to put on a shelf I put up a wall to avoid the conviction in my heart But deep within my chest I knew just where to start It all started with a simple prayer Asking God if He will help me pull back the layers But first things first I must confess my sin I walked away from God what a mess it caused within I ask God to forgive me and my wicked ways On His righteous path is where I want to stay I must confess it is me that walks away from God I believe the same lie that caused man to be flawed I know the devil comes to kill, steal and destroy He uses the pretties of the day as his decoy He tries to get me to live a defeated life To live in sin which causes strife But thankful to God Jesus is my Lord He gave us His Word which we call our Sword From the beginning God had a master plan To send Jesus as the redeemer for man He put Jesus high up on a cross To save all who’s getting lost So if you are like me and have lost your way Turn to Jesus, He’s the only Way© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 adopted80 | April 27, 2015 at 5:55 am | Tags: God’s Word, Jesus, poems, poetry, Prayer, redeemed, righteousness, salvation, Temptation, The Cross, The devil, wickness | Categories: Blessings and Curses, Faith, Forgiveness, God’s Love, God’s Word, Gods Grace, Heavenly Father, Poems about God, Prayer, Separated, Struggles, Thankfulness, Uncategorized | URL: http://wp.me/p2EBqi-c1 | Comment |    See all comments |

    |

    |

    | Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from poems4him. Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions. Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser: https://poems4him.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/a-fork-in-the-road/ |

    |

    | |

    |

    | Thanks for flying with WordPress.com |

    |

Leave a Reply

