When I turn away and run from You
It’s because of sin that has me stuck like glue
I try to do things on my own
Then whine and cry, I moan and groan
I think of You in heaven above
How You give grace and extend Your love
I think of how you died for me
By hanging from a dogwood tree
It’s Your cross that saved my life
You freed from a life of strife
Why do I turn and run from You
I honestly don’t have a clue
I have Your Spirit that lives inside
It’s my flesh and Your righteousness that do collide
I ask myself what’s my plan
I turned back to You and ran
As I drop to my knees and pray
It’s my sin that I confess and say
Lord please forgive me this I ask
Give me strength to not run to my past
As I crawl back into Your arms
It’s Your love that guards me from harm
Lord I’m thankful for Your grace
It’s what saves me in this race

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015

Comments

Leave a Reply

