I awoke one morning with pain in my heart

Trying to find words is a hard start

I describe the pain as one big hole

Empty was I with an ache in my soul

I describe the ache with one big sigh

Temptation set in and I wanted to get high

My mouth began to water, I got a taste in my mouth

My mind began to wonder and my thoughts went south

I start thinking about back in the day

How I started using drugs and lost my own way

My soul became empty and broken was I

My thoughts were churning how I wanted to die

I needed a fix and I needed it right then

Broken was I and I thought it was the end

I rolled onto to the floor and on to my knees

I said a quick prayer, Lord will You please

I heard a soft voice whisper in my ear

Come to me child I’ll draw you near

That was the day my life began to change

I found a Savior in Christ who no longer was strange

I gave Him my life and submitted to His ways

With the strength of His Spirit, I don’t have to stray

I call Him my friend, I call Him my Lord

I stay in His Word to sharpen my Sword

He led me with His Spirit and filled that hole

I am no longer empty I gave Him my soul

 

 

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011 through 2016

Comments
  1. I love this, you words describe my pain so eloquently.❤❤

Leave a Reply

