It was in the dead and dark of night

I was quaking in my spirit and nothing was right

I looked around me and nothing could I see

But I knew something was there, it was staring at me

Then I could see it’s beady eyes, looking all around

Looking to and fro, then up then down

It started to move, I was quaking in my skin

Was it in my mind, playing tricks within

In my mind I was trembling with fear

Was God around or was He even near

I cried out loud and dropped to my knees

Asking in a prayer if He could help me please

I knew not, what this was all about

Or who this is, was he big or stout

I heard this voice, gently speaking to me

He spoke to my heart, drawing me unto Thee

My heart began to change, transforming within

I started to read His Word and discovered it was my sin

I confessed my sin, forgiveness is what He gave

For He is true to His Word, He’s faithful to save

His mercy and grace was bestowed on me

All because He died on that tree

With fear and trembling is how I live

I gave Him my life, now service is what I give

He paid my ransom, my debt is now paid

The condition of my sentence is faithfully waved

His grace and mercy I could never earn

But the depth of His love is what I live to learn

I no longer live in fear or afraid in this fight

Jesus is my life, for Jesus is my Light

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved 2017

Comments

Leave a Reply

