Jesus Said, “IT IS FINISHED”

But why do I still feel the way I do?

JOHN 10:10  The thief comes only to kill and steal and destroy; I have come that they may have life,

and have it to the full.

Have you ever been in a service and heard an amazing sermon, or even been reading your Bible, or how about this, you were worshipping God to great praise music only for a short time afterwards you ask yourself why do I still feel the way I do? What’s wrong or what’s going on with me?

Where I often get hung up is in the first part of the verse about the thief. I don’t worry about the thief taking possession of my soul. Scripture says that nothing or no one can take me away from God, therefore I am His child FOREVER. How I personally get hung up is by allowing the devil, or circumstances dictate who I am in Christ. Thereby giving these thief’s control over my life and then living and acting as if I’m forever defeated. What I do is allow him to kill my dreams and ambitions, steal my joy and victories and destroy any hope that there is an exciting life to be lived. There is countless ways coming at us day and night trying to makes us feel or live defeated. But CHECK THIS OUT, we have HOPE !!! Man we have Jesus, what greater hope? Guys Christ never ever leaves us, no matter how defeated we feel. Sometimes it takes patience and endurance and all that means is sometimes we just have to hold on and keep holding on and believe having faith that this whatever will not go on forever.

I understand this verse to mean that the thief’s only interest is in himself. However the shepherds interests is in his sheep, who listen to his voice. The shepherd being Jesus. Jesus leads us, not driving us. When we believe and follow Christ, we have the promise of eternal life, and our life being full meaning Christ will supply all our needs.

Guys here’s the encouragement. Gods Word is full of wisdom, It is packed with promises. God really wants the best for His children. But we have to do our part, by listening to God, by obeying Him. Where I find myself in trouble most of the time is because I don’t listen. I think there’s a short cut. Jesus is the only way, He is the Short Cut ! The encouragement is DON”T GIVE UP ! BELIEVE ! And if you want to hear from God, if you really want God to talk to you. You have to read His Word, the Bible. Not just once or twice, but read it. Ask God for the desire to know Him and His Word and the strength to follow Him. But you got to do your part, Don’t give up on God, He never gives up on us. PRAISE and GLORY BE to GOD. Amen.

Make it a Blessed Day

In Christ

Bart

© Copyright By Bart Hickey, All Rights Reserved, 2011, 2012 and 2013

Comments
  1. Lori Lara says:

    Great post, Bart. What great encouragement…

    This verse is the key, the lynch pin, the epicenter of our human existence until Jesus comes back. Everything is based from this premise, and that’s why John 10:10 is one of my very favorite verses in the bible. It shows us the hidden, spiritual backdrop we don’t always acknowledge.

    It holds the source of evil, and the source of good, and the power of our choice.

    Blessings to you!

    • adopted80 says:

      Lori, you are far too kind.. Thank you for letting me know how this post touched you. I’ve only written 2 devotions and it’s my prayer of thanks for God is broading this gift’ Blessings to you Sister..

  2. Outstanding post, Bart! You nailed this one, bro!

  3. Ron Graham says:

    Bart, the battle is with the Prince of this world through our flesh, but our power is in the Holy Spirit and the precious Word of God. We can stand because of our Lord and his precious provision of salvation for us. Praise our Father the day is coming when we will receive that new body fashion like our Lord’s resurrection body and  the battle will be over. But, until then we walk by faith in our risen Lord.The victory over sin has been won and the reality of it is just around the corner. Bart, I love your post and truth is “IT IS FINISHED”      

    ________________________________

  4. […] Jesus Said, “IT IS FINISHED” But why do I still feel the way I do? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Jesus Said, “IT IS FINISHED” But why do I still feel the way I do? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Jesus Said, “IT IS FINISHED” But why do I still feel the way I do? (poems4him.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment